Types of Cerebral Palsy

Types of Cerebral Palsy

There are four main types of Cerebral Palsy, each caused by whichever area of the brain is affected and extent of the damage. The types are generally classified according to how the muscles function, but no two people have exactly the same disability. 

Spastic Cerebral Palsy

The most common type of CP. Spasticity means stiffness or tightness of muscles. This is most obvious when the child or adult tries to move. 

Athetoid Cerebral Palsy

Athetoid or athetosis is the term used for uncontrolled movements. This lack of control often leads to erratic movements when the child or adult starts to move. 

Ataxic Cerebral Palsy

The least common type of cerebral palsy. Ataxic (or ataxia) is a term used to describe a lack of balance and coordination. It often presents as unsteady, shaky movements called tremors. Difficulties with controlling the hand and arm during reaching (overshooting or past-pointing) and problems with the timing of motor movements are also seen.

Mixed Type Cerebral Palsy

This term is used when more than one type of motor pattern is present and no one pattern is predominate.