Miss Independent

Miss Independent

26, August 2014

View Madison's story on YouTube

My name is Madison Tully and I am 17 years old from Brisbane. I have hemiplegic cerebral palsy. My interests include Track and Field, Cross Country and Swimming. 

I was diagnosed with cerebral palsy at the age of 2 and didn’t learn how to walk until the age of 3.

I am so grateful that I have such amazing friends and family that have helped me get where I am today.

My mum is the most inspiring person you will ever meet in your entire life. Everything that she has been through, she has done way more than any mum should ever have to do for their child. aShe put all her heart and soul into teaching me how to walk. She gave up her full time job to dedicate so much to me.

She has given me the opportunity to be independent. I have done dancing, cheerleading, cross country, athletics and more. I competed against other private schools with other people who have cerebral palsy in May 2012 and I achieved 1st Place in the Met North AWD (Athletes with Disabilities) 17 years Cross Country event.   

I studied at Mary MacKillop College. I am so lucky that I am able to attend school and have friends that don’t look at me as 'a strange girl'. At school when I walk past I am just ‘Maddie’ to them.

I am so grateful that I have the opportunity to achieve my dreams: to go to University and become a Midwife; to live a really good quality of life.

All my doctors, physios and all the people that have helped me - I have them to thank.

I wouldn't be where I am today if it wasn’t for those people. 

*Photo taken at the World Cup Cheer and Dance Competition for 2011